Akpabio Wins Senate President Race

Estimated read time 1 min read
Spread the love




Akwa Ibom South-West Senator-elect, Godswill Akpabio, has defeated Zamfara West Senator-elect, Abdul’aziz Yari, in the 10th Senate President election today


Akpabio got highest number of votes out of the 109 votes cast


The former Akwa Ibom governor was returned elected as President of the 10th Senate after scoring 63 votes defeating Senator Yari who scored 46 votes.


Earlier today, voting commenced at the Red Chamber in Abuja, Nigeria.

Voting begun at exactly 08:45am on a state by state basis, alphabetically.


Voting ended at exactly 09:15am.
Akpabio was sworn in at exactly 09:44am.


Akpabio and Yari are top-ranking chieftains of the All Progressives Congress (APC). The former Zamfara governor had before now protested the endorsement of the the former minister by the party and asked that the endorsement be reviewed but the APC did not shift ground. The party also anointed Barau Jibrin from the North-West for the office of the Deputy Senate President.


In the just-concluded elections, the ruling APC secured about 70 seats in the Red Chamber, the highest by any party followed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the Labour Party (LP) and the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP).

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours